Congratulations Algis

Introduce yourself to everyone. Remain anonymous if you insist but why not be a little more open and tell us who you really are?

Congratulations Algis

Postby Renato Bender » Tue Nov 01, 2011 5:17 pm

Hi Algis and everybody.

It is great to have a new platform to discuss topics around "water and human evolution".

I am a 49 years old Brazilian sportteacher, specialized in swimming. I am living in Switzerland since 1988. Since 1998 I am working part time as sporttherapist with drug addicted people. The rest of my time I dedicate to research. My topics are history of science, history of paleoanthropology (e.g., history of the savanna and aquatic hypotheses), primates interaction with water and implications for early hominin evolution. I wrote a diplomawork in 1999 on these topics. Since 2009 I am doing a PhD at the Witwatersrand University, under supervison of Phillip V. Tobias and Andrew Gallagher. In this PhD I focus on the use of convergence as a tool to reconstruct evolutionary events (which I call convergence approach), with special emphasis on primates interaction with water.